Parking Meter Poles

A couple of years ago, the city of Oakland came into the burg and cut the heads off most of the parking meters, Cool Hand Luking them. (BTW: All of Cool Hand Luke is on YouTube in 10 minute segments. Watched it ALL last night instead of packing) Then, the city just left the poles sans meter heads. There have been various and sundry campaigns to get rid of these naked poles. Me? I contacted the T.V. news, and though they responded briefly, I guess the story was too boring. The news guys could have made it excited if they had tried, like “70 decapitated and left for dead on city sidewalks,” and then when you get past the teaser you find out it’s only parking meter poles with their heads cut off and left dysfunctional. But no, the news passed on the story all together. And so, the poles stuck up in the air like giant metal birdie fingers to all us residents, as in look what the city can do. Na Na. And you can’t do squat about it. Screw ya.

Until yesterday. A city worker was by the Safeway FINALLY Cool Hand Luking the poles at their base.He’s coming back Wednesday to cut some more. And I have to say, he was none too friendly when I tried to talk to him. I guess I was a bit over enthusiastic about the final removal of the city’s mess. Yup. Mess. Those meter poles with no meter heads just pushed my ADD and anti-litter buttons simultaneously and repeatedly. About the time they will all be gone, so will I.

4 Responses to “Parking Meter Poles”

  1. woohoo! finally! Alas, there are still plenty more about Oakland. But it’s a step.

    • I was thrilled to see that guy, Gene. The Dimond will look so much better without those durn useless poles. Not sure why that was a mandatory part of the original parking kiosk project.

  2. Paul Newman is the man. I really enjoyed him in The Sand pebbles and the Great Escape… Got you, that was Steve McQueen. How is the move progressing?

    • Paul Newman is great in this flick, so is George Kennedy. I love the Great Escape too. I think I just rewatched that last year. The old movies are so good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

