Biters

My dog thinks it’s funny that Barney, the President’s dog bit a reporter. My dog thinks that’s really funny. I do not. My dog thinks it’s pretty funny it bit me the other day when I was trying to put on its sweater. My dog hates her sweater, but the dog was shivering and not only shivering but making some sort of groaning noise. So, I went for her sweater, and as I was putting it on the dog, the little yap bit me. Not hard, but enough to let me know she hates the sweater and wasn’t going to wear it. Well, yes she was. After it was on, she was all warm and happy. I was not happy, and lectured the dog. The dog pretended it didn’t understand English.

Yesterday, we took the dog to the dog park. The dog likes the dog park but does not like other dogs. An overactive Cairn Terrier wanted to play with her. The Cairn was jumping over her like a circus dog and then he nipped her on the side. My dog yelped. I thought it was funny, really funny, but my dog did not. She jumped in my arms and the Cairn Terrier’s people said, “He didn’t mean it. He just wants to play with her.”

My dog glared at him until he was out of range and then pushed on me to get down. “Yeah,” I said, “that’s what biting feels like.” I laughed, but my dog didn’t think it was funny.

6 Responses to “Biters”

  1. I watched the President’s dog bite the reporter, I thought it was funny because the cardinal rule is never place your hand above a dog’s neck because that’s where another dog will try to grab it in a fight. If you watch the reporter that’s exactly what he did, the reported placed his hand directly over Barney’s neck. When approaching a strange dog you’re supposed to slowly present the back of your closed fist for him/her to sniff before making any quick moves. Why the closed fist, because most people will strike their dogs with an open hand and it is safer to present a closed fist, I guess if you run into a dog that gets slugged by it owner then you will probably get bitten presenting a closed fist also.

    I love Little Dog, she’s feisty! When you’re the smallest person in the house sometimes you just have to nip a people to show them you’re no pushover.

  2. I did not know that about the closed fist. I’m always presenting a flat hand. From now on, I’m with the closed fist. I’ll see how that works out.

    Little Dog is a pip.

  3. Open or closed, the good dog always recognizes a possible threat. Offer a goody. They like that.

  4. That is true. Mine are all about who has the chicken.

  5. gallimaufrieswiththat Says:

    AZ beat me to it. I didn’t know about the closed hand, though; usually, when I approach a strange dog, I put out my hand with the fingers curled under. But that’s more to protect me than anything else.

    I’m no dog whisperer but it was painfully obvious that the reporter didn’t know WTF he was doing. You just don’t approach a dog like that. He got what he deserved.

  6. Well, one thing is fer sure, the reporter won’t be petting Barney again. Old Barney broke the skin and everything – the bitey little shit.

Leave a Reply

