Overheard

While I walked the dogs, a neighbor and his wife were on the other side of their plank fence in their Jacuzzi with the jets puttering. The husband said, “I’ll be quiet some day forever, except for the voices in your head.”

The man in the emergency room yelled, “Don’t give Ella no money cause she’s gonna buy crack. I thought she was hongry. I gave her some money ‘n I thought she was gonna get some Burger King, but she bought crack.”

And from my table at lunch, “It’s the kind of cancer that kills you later after you died.”

At the grocery store: “Honey, you have to shake the cans — you can tell how much tuna is in the can if you shake it, see this can is all water, my mother calls it cat food.”

6 Responses to “Overheard”

  1. The things we hear when we listen. I hear my wife call my name and when I ask what she wants, she says she didn’t call me. I have that continous sea shell in my ears and it plays tricks on me, but I’ve gotten used to it.

  2. Overheard at the grocery store: “Honey, you have to shake the cans — you can tell how much tuna is in the can if you shake it, see this can is all water, my mother calls it cat food.”

  3. Steve, that must be a man thing because my husband does that all the time. Where did the sea shell thing come from? That is freaking annoying.

    Okay, AZ that was so funny I put it right up front right away. That is why you need to get on my blog so you can post what ever you want.

  4. Overhead at the grocery store walking through the condiment isle a little boy sitting in grocery cart talking to his mother “Ketchup Mom!” [Mom] “No honey, we don’t need ketchup, we have ketchup at home.” [Boy] “Ketchup mom!” [Mom] “Honey, I said we have ketchup, we don’t need ketchup.” [Boy] No, mom, catch up with that lady with the boy in her cart, I want to play with her boy.”

  5. all I hear is “nice day isn’t it” or “cold enough for ya?” or “woof” I should do a better job of listening or find a more interesting crowd on which to eavesdrop

  6. AZ that is too cute. Kids really do say some funny things. I can’t remember nor write the things down quick enough any more.

    Kate, maybe you need a more interesting crowd? Of course, I just really like eavesdropping. I do all the time, intentionally and non.

Leave a Reply

