Facebook and The Dress

I got another Facebook invitation this last week. Each new Facebook invitation carries all my other Facebook invitees’ pictures and this verbiage, “I set up a Facebook profile where I can post my pictures, videos and events and I want to add you as a friend so you can see it. First, you need to join Facebook! Once you join, you can also create your own profile.” The invitation this week says the person inviting me to join Facebook has 64 Facebook friends. The invitation prior to that, says that person has 52 Facebook friends. The invitation before that, says that person has 17 Facebook friends.

I don’t like the word “Facebook,” and I don’t like Facebook. I don’t want 64 Facebook friends. I don’t care how many Facebook people with their smiling pictures come flying into my email inbox, subliminally saying, “Oh come on; join us.” This is not high school. Maybe it is. I’m pig headed. I’m not joining. I have better things to do with my time, like look at YouTubes and upload tapes from my surveillance camera.

Grip the arm rest. I’m changing the subject.
What is the big deal about what Michelle Obama wears to the Inauguration? I admit to a slight curiosity but I’m not placing this huge overwhelming significance on her dress. The news has been wearing out Rosalyn Carter because she apparently rewore something she had previously worn at some gubernatorial affair. Shame on her for being frugal. I did see a picture of the frock and it looked like drapes from Gramma’s house, something she shouldn’t have worn the first time. Nancy Reagan wore a one shoulder glittery number from a Las Vegas show. I don’t know what she was thinking, but I guess it went over okay. Even if it didn’t, she was mean as a snake and probably bit the press corp and made them give it a passing grade. Of course who looked perfect was Jackie Kennedy. She was elegant, the consummate Princess.

4 Responses to “Facebook and The Dress”

  1. I’m not a Facebook kinda person either, why paste your face on the Interweb so that people can say: “Jeebus, Martha I though you was ugly, but take a gander at this mess!”

  2. MY GOD, AZ! I just sprayed chocolate chip cookie all over my MAC laughing at your comment. Stop, u sef now. You are too funny.

  3. I thought about Facebook at one time. Didn’t take long to forget it. You got that Highschool thing right. Too many people wanting to feel good about themselves I guess. I can see it if you have something to sell. A book, record, movie, or something.

  4. I never thought about that. Maybe that’s what they’re doing over on Facebook selling junk.

Leave a Reply

