Bug Eyed

bugeyedGoogle’s search engine pulled this picture for “bug eyed.” The other picture of interest it pulled was Hillary Clinton.

Last night, the hubby and I went out to a party. It should have been cool and great, but all I could think about was getting home, so we slipped out. And that was the easy part. The bathrooms were by the door. First, we got up like we were going to dance. Then, we went to the bathrooms, and then we trotted out to the parking lot.

I’m forever analyzing stuff. In fact, if I were married to me, I would say, “Enough all ready.” I asked Hubby what the deal was with that party. He said, “Maybe because everyone else was drinking?” That could be it since I can’t drink any more and he doesn’t. Or maybe I’ve gone back to my state of not caring whether I fit in or not. I talked to some of my buds while I was there but it was uncomfortable like shoes you know are going to cause a blister if you walk too far. They asked when I was coming back to writing class. I say “they” which includes all my writing buds except for one lady who can’t stand the F bombs I drop in my writing. She was conspicuously silent. And the truth of the matter is, I’m not going back to writing class. I don’t want to. I don’t want to curb how I talk or when I talk. I don’t want people assigning me exercises. I don’t want to get up on Saturday and catch two buses to get there. I just want to stay at the house and do my thing, whatever that may be. It all feels awkward now, like the party and the shoes that should fit but don’t quite.

4 Responses to “Bug Eyed”

  1. worldphotos Says:

    Driver, good for you. Do what you want, when you want, how you want. But, don’t leave the big guy out.

  2. No, no I won’t leave the Big Guy out. In fact the funniest thing that happened at the party last night was done by the big guy. He was cramming a big piece of cake in his mouth, and we’re sitting side by side so I don’t know how he managed this. A piece of cake goes flying between us and splats icing side up on the floor. His reaction was, “oops.” It stayed there for a long time until he went to get some coffee and found some napkins.

  3. I’m not a party person, I don’t mind gatherings of family and friends, but work parties I hate ’em. I’d always show up for the office Christmas party, but I’d make my appearance and then get the hell out before someone got drunk and put their foot in their mouth. I think one person a year would lose their job right after the office Christmas party because they had to much to drink and said something inappropriate.

  4. That’s crazy. They’d fire them for their Christmas party antics? What a mess that is. I never went to the work Christmas parties. I’d hear tales but the South is used to aberrant behavior. Hubby still won’t go to his and they keep telling us there is music and food. They don’t know my weakness is cake.

Leave a Reply

