Smarty Party

smarty
Here’s what the Smart car looks like on our own surveillance camera. Looks like a pregnant button. The Big Guy is still driving it too fast at times but he has mastered corners now, which is good. No more pulling out like we are in the open seas, navigating a trawler.

We have also discovered that children are attracted to the car. One kid was so small all he could do was point and babble. The other child was standing and talking to the car while my window was up. I lowered my window, but the kid was only 3 or 4 and I couldn’t understand what he was saying. He was pointing and talking, so I said, “Clown car. We are clowns.” He tried to give me the small plastic man in his hand. I told him thanks, but our clown credo prevented gifts. Then his dad came from the back of the station wagon where he was loading his goods, and we zipped off.

Yesterday yielded these embarrassments:
1. We drove a circle around a car at the video store. I’m not sure why we did that. It was one of those deals where we were trying to do the right thing and it ended up in a clown car move.

2. We called the salesman because the car was beeping. This car has a unique anti-theft feature. If you take the car without the key, it will slow to 6mph in one mile. We thought we had activated that feature somehow. We sat in front of our house, waiting for the salesman to call the alarm company and then call us back. In the mean time, we decided to check the doors. We had not closed a door.

3. I soiled the seat. Why me? Why do I always have to be the pig pen? I tried to scrub it off but how does someone get something stuck on their butt and not notice it until IT MESSES UP THE NEW CAR?

4 Responses to “Smarty Party”

  1. You didn’t soil the seat, you just broke it in.

  2. That makes me feel better. I guess seat dooty is better than a fender ding.

  3. When significant other buys a new vehicle he refuses to let anyone have a drink container in the vehicle, and he refuses to let children eat in the vehicle, but his late mother never went anywhere without a cup of water or soda. Inevitably she would spill her drink in the truck, then a couple of times he let his late brother in the vehicle with a soda and he would spill his drink in the truck. Both of them never spilled on the plastic floor mats, nooo they aimed for the nooks and crannies. There’s something about new vehicle interiors, they are spill and stain magnets.

    I can understand the car drawing the attention of little ones, the Smart Car looks like a big Tonka Toy.

    • The really sad thing (or gross) was I wasn’t drinking anything, AZ. I got something stuck on the butt of my pants and then it got all over the new seat. Fortunately I was able to get most of it off the seat. The Hubby really doesn’t allow eating in his vehicles either, but I’m not sure how this one is going to work since I paid for half of it. I guess I can eat in my half.

      LOL on the Tonka Toy. And you are so right.

Leave a Reply

