Migraine Be Gone

Another adventure into the unknown (and possibly weird). I had an occipital nerve block yesterday. The procedure, occipital nerve injections for neuralgia and unilateral headache syndromes (about 2/3 down the page), is touted as a cure for certain types of migraines, apparently my type. I’m not sure who came up with the idea first because I’d like to give credit where credit is due because these freakin’ migraines have sent me to the ER twice in the last month. I first heard about it from one of my blogging buddies, Doug, but when I called my neurologist to tell her I was back in the ER, she was already on the fast track to finding someone to do the nerve block. I’m giving credit to both of these people because without both I’d still be running in and out of the ER like it was the 7-Eleven on the corner. Thank you great gobs, Doug and Dr. Akers. It’s nice not to have a headache this morning. In fact, it’s great. I’m going to do something wild and crazy, like play the music loud and disturb my neighbors.

In other news, the hubby has a cold. I’m blaming the stress induced from my noodle pain. He says, “No, it’s just a cold. I coughed up some phlegm this morning and looked at it under my microscope. It’s okay. It’s not bacterial.” I say good use of the lab’s microscope and I’m glad he’s happy with his phlegm. Happy phlegm, Honey.

4 Responses to “Migraine Be Gone”

  1. Hey, that’s super. It’s nice to have good friends. May you stay migriane free and here’s hoping the big guy gets over the cold.

  2. So far so good. I can feel the migraine working around in my brain but there’s no pain to it. I guess that’s why they call it a nerve block.

    Big Guy called in sick today. A rarity. He’s been tanking up on cough syrup and Theraflu. I think he’s going to work tomorrow though. He never stays down long.

  3. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

    • You’re welcome, and I’m sorry I was so long in responding to your comment. Somehow my spam catcher caught you. I hope this helps your friend. The nerve block has been amazing. It’s still working and no migraines.

Leave a Reply

