Crazy, Crazy, Crazy

This slug is living under the birdbath. It’s crazy, really. The birdbath is right next to my driveway, and in between my house and the house next door. The driveway is always warm, heated by the concrete on the drive and surrounded by stucco homes, absorbing the sunlight. Even if a wind tries to blow up the drive, my stucco garage stops it. I call the area where the slug lives, Fort Lauderdale. And I clean out the birdbath every few days. I always tell myself, “Mind the slug. Don’t drop the birdbath on him.” And every time the birdbath slips out of my hands, and I drop it squarely on the slug’s back. And yet, he’s still there, and growing.

This flower is growing in our pot on the patio. It’s crazy. Why? Because it looks like something that wants to eat the small dog.

There is a street corner by our vets that the Big Guy and I refer to as Crazy Corner. We’ve never seen anything like it, and we are used to Oakland drivers. People run the stop signs. They try to run over pedestrians, and yesterday this happened. No one was hurt, but sheesh.

4 Responses to “Crazy, Crazy, Crazy”

  1. Slugs are homeless snails. We get lots of little ones on the patio when It rains. They don’t bother me, but I guess folks with a garden sure don’t care for them.

    Crazy corner sounds like a good name. I bet the driver didn’t have insurance, if the car wasn’t stolen.

    • The driver was some old dude. But I have to say, he’s got one up on me. I can’t even drive any more.

      I went by crazy corner today and in crazy corner fashion this woman jumped out in front of a car. Crazy.

  2. Slugs, they are cold and slimy, they eat holes in all your greenery, they leave silvery slime trails where ever they crawl, they mate like crazy thereby making lots and lots of baby slugs. Slugs I hates ’em.

    I don’t have a name for it, but I always say Acoma (a street that runs behind our house) will put you in a coma, youngsters have decided that Acoma is a 1/4 mile drag, they race up and down like crazy people, thus far I’ve only seen one motorcycle wipe out, he took out a dozen shrubs, totaled his bike, and probably got himself a shit load of tickets, I haven’t heard him racing up and down Acoma since his accident, I think it was his Dad’s motorcycle. I think his dad took away all his driving privileges, either that or scraping his helmet on 40 yards of asphalt, concrete, and bouncing off a block fence knocked some sense in the young feller. Now I’m waiting for a car to come flying over our back fence, I just hope we’re not home when it happens, I hate the sight of blood more than I hate slugs.

    • I had forgotten all about the acomas. Only in Phoenix. I had one behind my house too but never had such a spectacular wreck as you had with the motorcycle. I don’t know why people feel the need to speed down those things. Mine wasn’t paved – just gravel, but people would blow down it like it was the Indy 500

Leave a Reply

