Wombat

I have a friend who has a friend who’s originally from New Zealand. My friend’s friend’s family (does that make sense?) took this picture of a wombat in their yard. They are New Zealand’s version of possums. I think.

In other news, I have a couple of birds who continue their argument in my back yard. I don’t know what the fight is about, but it has been going on for several days near some bushes to the left as I go out the backdoor. They look like robins, and they are so intent on fighting they ignore me and dogs when we go outside to tell them to settle their differences and put a cork in it. Yesterday, one of my friends went out to see what their trouble was. She says she can see a nest. Maybe they are arguing about that, but for several days? A bit unusual. The small dog has been out numerous times and told them to quiet down and curb the flapping. Now that my friend has found a nest I keep imaging some strange domestic argument about their domicile. Perhaps someone spray painted the spare bathroom purple or someone didn’t put the milk back in the refrigerator or worse yet. Someone took down the firewall and all their computers got viruses.

10 Responses to “Wombat”

  1. I didn’t know Wombats were an introduced species, I guess they really like their new home, from what I read they are eating everything that doesn’t move, plus a few things that do move. Take warning Wombats when humans mess with Mother Nature nothing good comes of it, and humans usually don’t have to pay for their mistakes, you do.

  2. Wow! Did not know they were an introduced species either. I was trying to read about them some too. Apparently, their main means of defense against predators is their thick ass. I think I could say the same about myself.

  3. Hey! Kate and her wombats are from Australia! She’s on her way back here now — and this will blow your mind — when she gets here, it will actually be a FEW HOURS before she left because she’s going back a whole day.

  4. Did I ever tell you about the time I slipped and fell down two flights of stairs? It was in grade school, I was wearing a girdle with satin panels, and a wool skirt with a nylon lining. Once I started bouncing down the concrete stairs there was no stopping me, all that satin and nylon made me all slippery and slidey. I even bounded around the landing and continued down the second set of stairs. You know what saved me from certain death? My thick ample ass, just like the wombat. šŸ™‚

    • LOL! No, you did not tell me about the satin panels and the fall down the stairs. Lucky you were not hurt.

      My ass has saved me a few times too. Helps to have a bit of a bodonkadonk, not as big as the Kardashians, of course, but some padding.

  5. That’s one chubby critter.

  6. That wombat is a lady!!!! That’s why she’s so plump!

Leave a Reply

