She’s still kicking

Yesterday, I was pretty sure the Big Dog was a goner. I even took a picture of her in the living room when I thought she had died in there, like some sort of last photo. She stayed in the living room all day. I tried to give her water, but she refused it. I tried to get her up, but she couldn’t make it. Finally, I just let her be. I figured when hubby came home for work, we would rig up a sling and get her in the car and take her to be put down. Then, around 4pm, I was back in the study working on the computer and she walked in here to see me like she always does. She seemed to say, “Boy, THAT was miserable, but I think I’m better now.” She’s playing with stuffed animals and eating again. I can’t really say what is going on other than the meds the vet gave me worked pretty well.

4 Responses to “She’s still kicking”

  1. Sad, but glad she’s up and about.

  2. When I had to put my Little Dog down I knew exactly how she was feeling, kidney failure makes you nauseous and you just keep tossing your cookies day and night. I went through the same thing when my blocked kidney went undiagnosed for over two weeks. I wasn’t going to make her suffer like I did; sometimes the kindest thing to do is the hardest thing to do. She was my companion for 23 years, best dog ever.

    • Your Little Dog lived a good long life. It is so hard to put them down. I figure as long as they’re eating and the light is still on, we’re still in the game. When she’s done, she’ll let me know.

Leave a Reply

